These are the results of the 2013 OzCHI student design challenge:


Four teams were selected from the submissions; they presented their submission at the OzCHI conference in Adelaide (Australia) to compete for the first prize. These presentations were judged by a small panel consisting of Cecile Paris (CHISIG Chair), Paul Calder (OzCHI 2013 Conference Chair) and Kenton O’Hara (Microsoft Research).

Fast Five (Runner-up)
Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati
Mannu Amrit, Minal Jain, Abhinav Krishna, Himanshu Bansal, Mehul Agarwal

Potluck (First prize)
Institute of Design, Umeå University
Marcel Penz, Kallirroi Pouliadou, Tais Mauk, Yedan Qian, Siyuan Fang

Sachertorte (Runner-up)
University of Sydney
Darrell Rivero, Liz Gilleran, Nick Woods, Rowan Lucas, Matthew Ritchie

Technophiliacs (Second prize)
University of Melbourne
Sarah Webber, Behnaz Rostami, Kayla Heffernan, Fernando Estrada, Daina Augstkalns

Shortlisted teams

In addition to the finalists the following teams were chosen to be included in the conference catalogue:

Five Itchy Penguins
Umeå Institute of Design, Umeå University
Kevin Gaunt, Migle Padegimaite, Jenni Toriseva, Regimantas Vegele, Emily Keller

Hoppipolla (Runners-up award)
Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati
Prabhat Kumar, Harshit Agrawal, Rishika Jain, Arka Bani Maini, Vishesh Kumar

Umeå Institute of Design at Umeå Universitet, Sweden.
Júlia Nacsa, Jiaojiao Xu, James McIntyre, Idil Tunga, Madyana Torres

Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati
Gashaye Mahtemu, Parvathy V R, VSSS Sri Harsha Andukuri, Jahnvi Mudgal, Rajib Bhakat

National Institute of Design, India
Dhruv Damle, Debanshu Bhaumik, Debashish Sahu, Vishnu MS

Mini-Challenge Winners

The mini-challenges are small competitions run during the 24-hours to help focus the teams efforts. This year three challenges were run focusing on identifying existing research in the field, the team blogs, and video creation respectively.

Mini-Challenge 1: A tie between teams Chaos (Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati) and inFamous (University of Melbourne, Cornell University).

Mini-Challenge 2: Five Itchy Penguins (Umeå Institute of Design, Umeå University).
Teams Chaos (Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati), Technophiliacs (University of Melbourne) and PlanB (Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati) tied for a close second.

Mini-Challenge 3: Pani jo sharbi (Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati).
Teams Hoppipolla (Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati), Team GPS (Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati), The Illusionists (National Institute of Design, India) and Fast Five
(Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati) all received honourable mentions.

Review committee

A big thank you to our panel of judges and for their help with reviewing this year’s submissions to the challenge:

David Brown (Reactive)
Paris Buttfield-Addison (Secret Lab)
Andrew Clayphan (University of Sydney)
Zac Fitz-Walter (QUT)
Marcus Foth (QUT)
Xavier Ho (University of Sydney)
Lone Koefoed Hansen (Aarhus University)
Henrik Korsgaard (Aarhus University)
Peter Lyle (QUT)
Jon Manning (UTAS)
Roberto Martinez-Maldonado (University of Sydney)
Richard Medland (QUT)
Tim Nugent (UTAS)
Fabius Steinberger (Munich University)
Jimmy Ti (QUT)
Tony Wang (QUT)
Christoph Wimmer (Vienna University of Technology)
Nicholas Wittison (UTAS)