Four teams were selected to present their work in Sydney during the OzCHI Conference (2–5 December 2014). Their presentation were judged by a small expert panel consisting of Geraldine Fitzpatrick (Vienna University of Technology), Marcus Foth (QUT Urban Informatics) and Kenton O’Hara (Microsoft Research).

First place:

The Whimsicals
Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati, India
Bhawna Agarwal, Vikas Goel, Pradeep PJ, Richa Tripathi, Poorvi Vijay

Second place:

Team Apophenia
University of Sydney, Australia
Ronan Brett, Elizabeth Gilleran, Frederik Görtelmeyer


Kingsloths in Space
Umeå Institute of Design, Sweden
Aylin Alpay, Martijn van den Broeck, Matthias Karg, Trieuvy Luu, Ezgi Sabir

Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati, India
Vyzak AS, Dhvanil Patel, Dipendra Namdeo, Ritesh Ranjan Singh, Rohan Vijay


Thanks to generous contributions by the OzCHI 2014 Conference, HFESA, and FoodCHI/QUT Urban Informatics, each team was supported by a travel scholarship that includes up to 1500 AUD in reimbursements (for those traveling from outside of NSW, Australia) and two student tickets to the conference.

Short Listed

In addition to the finalists the following teams were chosen to be included in a special issue proceedings of the conference pending satisfactory revision:

Sons of Ive
Aarhus University, Denmark
Morten Bisbo, Pelle Bjørn Nielsen, Anders Lassen, Martin Lønsmann

Team Mangalyaan
Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati, India
Avinandan Basu, Gautham Krishna, Pankaj Kumar, Prakash Shukla, Neeraj Talukdar

We will be in contact with the 6 shortlisted teams on how to polish their work, and in the case of the 4 finalists how to claim their travel scholarship.

Mini-Challenge Winners

The mini-challenges are small competitions run during the 24-hours to help focus the teams efforts. This year two challenges were run focusing on answering expert questions, and video creation respectively. Courtesy of Rosenfeld, 6 ebooks are to be awarded to Mini-Challenge winners and honourable mentions.

Mini-Challenge 1: Team Mangalyaan (Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati, India) will receive two ebooks.

Mini-Challenge 2: Sons of Ive (Aarhus University, Denmark) will receive two ebooks. Teams Kingsloths in Space (Umeå Institute of Design, Sweden) and The Pentagon (Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati, India) each merited an honourable mention and will receive one ebook each.

Rosenfeld will email these teams’ designated contacts shortly with information on claiming your ebooks. Please note: each ebook is a single licence, not one for your whole team.


A big thank you to our panel of judges and for their help with reviewing this year’s submissions to the challenge:

Ben Kraal (QUT, Australia)
David Brown (Reactive)
Glenda Caldwell (QUT, Australia)
Henrik Korsgaard (Aarhus University, Denmark)
Ine Mols (Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands)
Jaz Choi (UTAS, Australia)
Jimmy Ti (QUT, Australia)
Jon Manning (UTAS, Australia)
Lone Koefoed Hansen (Aarhus University, Denmark)
Martin Tomitsch (University of Sydney, Australia)
Matthew D’Orazio (UTAS, Australia)
Mendel Broekhuijsen (Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands)
Paris Buttfield-Addison (UTAS, Australia)
Rob Comber (Newcastle University, England)
Roberto Martinez-Maldonado (University of Sydney, Australia)
Timothy Nugent (UTAS, Australia)
Xavier Ho (University of Sydney, Australia)
Zack Fitz-Walter (QUT, Australia)


Thanks to all the teams that participated this year. We hope you had fun. We’re sorry again for how long it has taken to publish the results (believe us, it’s been a nightmare on our end too). Please take a moment to fill out this year’s feedback survey. We look forward to seeing you all again next year, and tell your friends!

One thought on “Results

  1. Pingback: OzCHI24 2014 Results Announced | OzCHI24

Comments are closed.